A Love Like Ashton

This past Friday we had an actual sunny day, blue skies and sunshine! With this once in a life time opportunity of sun, we decided to make the most of it. Luckily there is a lovely little park right by my campus. Williamson Park has many things going for it; there are walking paths through the woods, a pond(including adorable ducks), a cafe, butterfly house and most notably the Ashton Memorial. This 150 foot structure can be seen from campus. This was actually how we discovered the park existed, we asked what the blue dome was.

IMG_0388

For a bit of history about the monument: Lord Ashton built the memorial for his late wife. It was completed in 1909 and at a cost of £4,588,000 in today’s money. Today you can tour the grounds and building, visit the butterfly house and get married! You can marry your love in a building made because of love, plus it is gorgeous. I’d love to get married there, but that would require a man. Oh to have a love like Lord Ashton!

IMG_0419

Now that is what we call love. This man built a giant building for his wife after she died. His money wasn’t a waste either. The Ashton Memorial is beautiful and the view from the very top is spectacular. You can see all of Lancaster, the Irish Sea and the mountains in the distance. It is one of the best views I have ever witnessed. I know that I will definitely be going back to read or do school work. It has been great to use my days for from school to explore Lancaster. I hope to do some more in the up coming weeks. I know there is so much that I have yet to see. It may be a little city, but there is so much that it offers. I am loving it and I can’t wait to see what adventure comes next!

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

