In Ruins

I’m the kind of girl who likes to research things. I love Google, it is like a loving old friend that I can always turn to no matter what. And I have been using it like crazy the past couple of days. Since I’m in another country, I want to see as many things as I can in my short time here. You know what that means. Research and planning! Two of my most favorite things. So anyways, I have found some really helpful websites giving tourist information about historic sites to visit, local attractions and must sees when in the United Kingdom. My suggestion to anyone out there that is doing traveling -whether it is in your local area or out of the country- is to use these sites to find out cool things that you didn’t even know existed. You may be surprised what you find. I found out that there were some 8th century ruins in a town next to where I’m living. Now that is pretty cool, if I do say so myself!

IMG_0561

 

IMG_0578IMG_0577

On Saturday we boarded the doubledecker bus once again and set off on our mini adventure. The ruin, aka the St. Patrick’s Chapel, we visited is located in Heysham, England. Now for a bit of history. As I already stated the chapel dates from the 8th century, though there is a myth that the chapel was built by St Patrick, who actually died around 490AD. From what remains one can see that it was a very small chapel, about 30 feet long and 10 feet wide. The coolest/creepiest part of the ruin is the Rock Hewn Graves. These are six monk graves carved into a giant rock. The contents of the graves have long been removed, so there are just holes in the rock where the bodies once rested and holes where cross markers used to stand. Thinking back on this part of the outing, I believe this might be the oldest place I have ever visited. After exploring the ruins and taking lots of photos by the cliff that the chapel once dominated, we ventured into the village of Heysham.

 

IMG_0622Just a short walk from St. Patrick’s Chapel is the Parish Church of St. Peter. This is a functioning Anglican parish church founded in the 7th or 8th century. Though the building that I saw was not the original structure. The church is surrounded by old headstones. My friend Jenny made the inappropriate joke that the little boxes with holes on top of some graves were for fresh air. I appreciated this joke, but I think the older couple walking in front of us were less then amused. We spent some time just sitting out in the older part of the cemetery looking out over the graves at the amazing view before us. I mean these people have it all a breathtaking view, fresh sea air, and fantastic internet service. That’s a joke so don’t get offended, people are dying to get in there!

IMG_0613

 

After leaving St. Peter’s we went further into the cute town of Heysham. I enjoy that the houses have names. When walking to the sea we passed Pebble Cottage. Ugh that is just too cute. Everything about this day trip was very English. The scenery was what I pictured and the town was so quaint. It was another successful outing in the English culture. I am loving it all and I think I have seriously taken like 500 pictures!

Until next time…

2 thoughts on “In Ruins

Leave a Reply

