Scouse For A Day

Forgive me for this post is very very late. I have been travelling throughout the month of November. Traveling like crazy. I was actually only in England for ten days in November. So as you might have imagined I’ve gotten rather backed up with the blogging becuase I’ve been away from my laptop exploring the big o’ world. This post is about a lovely little day trip that we did on November 16th to Liverpool.

I was really excited about going to Liverpool. The main reason was to see The Beatles museum and to be in the city where their amazing story began. My Dad is a huge Beatles fans and I have thus become a huge Beatles fan. And it has nothing to do with the fact that they wrote one of the only songs that feature my name. That is just an added bonus. This trip to Liverpool was supposed to be one of our school trips, where we would pay 10 pounds for a bus and we would go down for the day, but sadly like all the other trips not enough people signed up and we were screwed. This has been a really frustrating part of their study abroad program. The is a large group of students from Hong Kong and if they don’t sign up for the trips none of the rest of us get to go. And they haven’t signed up for any of the last trips. And what’s even more annoying is the one lady in the international office tries to make excuses for them saying that they travel every weekend. The last time we went into that office and she said that to me, I freaked out a bit. I told her that it wasn’t an excuse because I have also traveled every weekend, but I planned my travels around these trip. So it kinda sucks when I could have done something else, but i had already decided to go on the trip. I think I may have shocked her, but I was really annoyed with all of them and defending those students. They really need to figure out a better plan for these trip because it isn’t fair for the other students.

IMG_3226 IMG_3351

Okay rant over now onto Liverpool. So in the morning we caught a train to Liverpool. Though this time we had to transfer, which in other words meant we had to run from one side of the station to another in order to make it to our train. We arrived at Liverpool Lime Street station. This brings me to the Liverpool nicknames. I’ve never been to a city that has so many strange names. They can be called Scousers, Scouse, Limey, or Liverpudlians. All very interesting. Anyways, after we arrived at the station we made our way down to the harbor where the Beatles museum is. We then had to wait in a giant line for about twenty minutes before being allowed into the museum. I have no idea why it took so long, but one thing is for sure, the Beatles museum is extremely popular. It was mid November and definitely not high tourist time and the place was still packed. Once inside the wait was totally worth while. It was very interesting learning more about the bands history, some of which I knew from my Dad and some from watching movies about the Beatles. I loved seeing all of the actual outfits, instruments and recording devices used by the band. These things made that famous music. The museum took you through the story of the Beatles, starting from when they were the Quarrymen to playing in Germany, through their rise to fame and making it in America. It was a really great museum for music lovers and Beatles fans alike. I highly recommend it to anyone who is going to be in Liverpool. The Beatles are just an iconic group and it is hard to believe that they were together for such a short time and they were able to change the world of music so greatly.

IMG_3268 IMG_3227 IMG_3269

IMG_3247 IMG_3272

IMG_3263 IMG_3254 IMG_3270

IMG_3286 IMG_3284 IMG_3295

After our Beatles experience we went to the Museum of Liverpool. A great thing about this museum is that it is free. Most of the museums in Liverpool are free, which is really nice for a bunch of poor exchange students. The museum had a bunch of displays about Liverpool through the years and how it has evolved into the city that it is today. I personally love museums (thanks Mom and Dad for dragging us to them when we were little) I can spend hours looking at random historical or artist things. So this museum was the same. I saw small pox, army uniforms, a steam train and a Tour de France jersey. We stayed there until they closed and we then went back into the city center to shop until our train came for us.

IMG_3321 IMG_3322 IMG_3330

IMG_3342

Again I am sad to say that this story has a bit of a sad ending. I would also like to reiterate how much I can’t wait to have my car and not use public transportation. When we got to the train station we found out that our train has been delayed because of signal failure. I have no idea what that is, but the robotic Northern Rail lady kept coming on the loudspeaker to tell us about the delay and that they were sorry for any inconvenience. Let me tell you I did not feel a genuine apology from her. We waited in that train station for over an hour until finally the platform was announced. We then sat outside the train for another fifteen minutes before they let us on. At this point I hated Northern Rail, I was cold and had a headache and all I wanted to do was be in my room back in Lancaster. After our train ride to Preston, where we had to switch trains to get back to Lancaster, we were told that the train we were supposed to take was cancelled and that we would have to take a replacement bus to Lancaster. Oh and this bus doesn’t come for another hour!!! We waited intside the stations semi warm waiting room for the bus. Then at 10pm we headed up to the bus stop area with a huge crowd of people. The bus was then about ten or fifteen minutes late, but when I finally saw it I wanted to kiss the driver! All I wanted was to be in my bed. Which took another forty five minutes to get to Lancaster. I have no idea how it could have taken that long to get there. It is only a fifteen minute train ride. I think the driver didn’t know where he was going, which is a logical excuse because he drove past the Lancaster train station and we had to turn around! It was seriously like Planes, Trans and Automobiles that evening. But even with the horrible ending I had a great time in Liverpool. We saw an amazing sunset and the city was decorated for Christmas. So all in all the trip was really fantastic. It’s just the horrible public transportation system that gets me down!

IMG_3345 IMG_3361

IMG_3363

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

