Hello Goodbye

Social media is always evolving and some sites just can’t keep up. Social media such as Friendster, lost popularity because another site was created that offered less spam, a better layout or in general a better idea. Even Princeton thinks that social media could have an end! Using super advanced math skills they did a study about the decrease in Facebook users in a projected period of time, losing 80% of its peak user base between 2015 and 2017. Could it be the end of the Facebook era? Is our trusty social media friend going to leave us for good? I say, “No way!!” In my last post I talked about how I believe that Facebook isn’t going anywhere. It is true that fewer teens are using the site; they prefer the new social media sites such as Twitter, Snapchat and Tumblr. The main reason Facebook is losing its cool status is because adults are using it. Josette Plank talks about it in her article about Snapchat’s new found popularity with the teen audience. The thing about those sites is that they can’t do what Facebook does. No one is going to be replacing Facebook any time soon. On no other site can you create albums, post about your cat’s vet visit and comment on a friend’s status about The Fault in Our Stars first trailer release all in one place. Only on Facebook could you do all those things. Way to go Facebook! Keep up the good work. I personally don’t plan on giving up on my faithful Facebook account. I can keep in contact with old friends from high school and new friends for Europe. Without Facebook there would be no way that I would be able to continue my relationship with them.

I personally don’t have a lot of social media accounts. I have a twitter, but never use it. Out of all my tweets about 90% are just images from Instagram. My active social media accounts are Facebook and Instagram. I guess I also have this blog, but I’m not sure if I consider it a social media because I use it for writing purposes and not for the social aspect. I also am currently having a love affair with Tumblr. It is such a bad addiction; I just endlessly scroll through pictures for my viewing pleasure. I think Tumblr is a great social media site partly because it is so anonymous, which is an interesting new take on social media. The only people that know that my site is my site are my friends. Well and you now if you want to check out my Tumblr. I think you can learn a lot about a person based on their Tumblr posts. Plus Tumblr is number two in highest revenue per visit for a social media site.  Making this fantastic new social media site second to only Facebook. Nice work! I mean what’s not to love?! Look at this adorable ginger cow/oxen thingy and tell me how you couldn’t enjoy a social media site like Tumblr.

moo

Leave a Reply

