Money, Money, Money

One thing you need to know is that I am incredibly cheap! I don’t spend any money unless it’s of utmost importance. I have never seen the point of paying for a premium service when I can enjoy the free service. Right now I’m using the standard WordPress and not paying for the special upgrade or whatever it is that you have to pay for. I don’t know; what I know is that I am doing just fine with my balloon background. I did a bit of research on premium WordPress themes because I wasn’t 100% sure what they were all about. In this article by David Yip, he discusses whether paying money for a theme is worth it. Sorry WordPress you won’t be getting any of my money.

Sadly, I did not jump on the stock bandwagon. This means that I am not currently racking in the money from investing in social media. Who knew that these sites could make such a profit?! Maybe one day, when I actually have money, I will do some investing. I did find this handy article with some tips for young investors. Go on and make some money from the social media that you use.

Social_Media_PC_Network_MI-resize-600x338

I think that we can all agree that ads on social media sites can be really annoying. There are some social media that has more obvious advertising compared to others. The main thing that comes to my mind are the ads on YouTube. Oh my goodness those are sooo annoying and I just want them to be over so I can enjoy the video. With that said some ads do catch my eye and I will watch the whole advertisement without skipping, though that rarely happens. Google, who owns YouTube, has been making a ton of money off of the advertisements that us viewers have to sit through. In 2013’s second quarter Google made an estimated $14 billion in revenue with $3.6 billion coming from YouTube. Compared to the YouTube ads ones on Facebook are less noticeable. They are just on the right hand side and normally, at least for me, are about clothes. I don’t do a lot of online shopping, so I’m not really sure why they’re there. I barely notice that ads which works out for the best. The Facebook makes its money and I carry on living my life.

Leave a Reply

