To the Binge Watchers and Media Marathoners

Are you ready to fall head over heels, knee deep in a story, growing unhealthily attached to characters and spending days latched onto your laptop out of fear for the unknown well-being of these characters?

Well, if this sounds like an enjoyable experience—boy, do I have a proposition for you. Media marathoning, or binge watching, is becoming either increasingly popular or a problem, depending on how you look at it. I will be the first to admit I have a problem when it comes to binge watching. And I’m not talking about an “I watch two episodes a night” sort of problem. No, I’m talking about an “I watch four seasons in six days” problem. I would consider myself to be a knowledgeable binge watcher who has succumbed to the unearthly power of a good show.

I am here to tell of my experience and offer advice to my fellow bingers or newbies out there.

binge watch

What is it that makes people, such as myself, get so wrapped up in a show that they would rather spend hours upon hours with said show than with real life people? I think that there are several aspects that play into this need to binge. Reasons can include, but are not limited to:

  1. There are lots of ways that shows are readily available to the consumer. Whether it be Netflix, Amazon Prime, one of the many questionable online streaming sites, DVD, on-demand or TV marathons. It is easier than ever to get sucked into a show.
  2. Let’s face it: the amount of TV shows out there is astounding. You have network TV, cable, premier channels and now web series too. Bingers have an overwhelming about of currently airing shows and off air shows to choose from.
  3. Escapism is key. We like to leave the real world behind and immerse ourselves in a fictional atmosphere. Escape into another time period or lifestyle or character. It can be like living vicariously through the characters in the shows. The viewer gets to experience events that they would most likely never get to experience if not for the bingeworthy show. I mean no matter how hard I try I will never be on a mystical island after a plane crash or (hopefully) never be in a woman’s correctional facility.
  4. It’s fun. Plan and simple, binge watching is fun. It is fun to put off responsibilities. It is fun to watch new shows. It is fun to stay up until 3 a.m. waiting to find out if your favorite character survived.

I am here to encourage you to binge watch a show (if you aren’t currently doing that with a second browser open). My blog posts will go through the stages of binge watching, from the selection to the final tear-filled goodbye. And of course, I will be binge watching a show during the process of writing these posts (obviously). The lucky show of choice is Sons of Anarchy.

Join me if you want. Be prepared to stay up late, put off important assignments and become emotionally attached to the fictional characters in the show.

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

