Perks of an ID

Budget friendly exploring tip alert! I was told about this hidden gem called the New York City ID during my training and think it’s a great resource for people in the city.

Okay, so what is it? A New York City ID is a form of identification that can be used through out the city. There are serious uses for it like getting into government buildings and gaining city services. With the card comes some serious perks, which were the main push for me to get one, including a free one-year membership at many museums, zoos, concert halls, and botanical gardens. Since I will be in the city for about a year this seemed like an amazing opportunity to experience the culture of New York in a very cost effective way.

What is the process of getting an ID? First step would be to visit the website because it has all the information you will need to move forward. The first step is scheduling an appointment. This is right on the website, very easy to set up because there are many locations to go for an interview. I use the word interview lightly because it is just a short appointment to show documentation for proof of residency and a picture for the card. The website has a list of documents that can be used in the application process. Personally, I went to the Mid-Manhattan Library for my application appointment. I brought a copy of my lease and my driver’s license. The whole process took 15 minutes. About a week later I received my ID in the mail.
Cool bean, now tell me about these perks? The website has a very thorough break down of all the benefits that come with the ID. Along with the museums and other cultural attractions, the ID can be used as a library card, gain discounts are fitness centers, buy discounted tickets for a variety of entertainment, receive a discount at Food Bazaar supermarket, and when adopting a pet from an animal care center you get $25 off the adoption fee. I will be using the ID to get memberships at several museums like American
Museum of Natural History, Museum of Modern Art, Museum of the City of New York, The Public Theater, and El Museo del Barrio. That’s just to name a few that I am interested in during my time here.

 

I encourage everyone to take advantage of this opportunity. With my ID in tow I can start to do some cultural exploring!

Until Next Time…

Leave a Reply

